First and foremost – we congratulate Wendi Williamson on becoming NZ Dressage Champion and winner of the Burkner Medal once again after a three out of three classes win on Don Vito MH (Don Frederico/Anamour) – a full sibling to her previous NZ GP Champion and HOYS Champion, Don Amour MH.

Bates National Champions 2022

There were a total of 44 Hanoverians and Rheinlander horses entered (close to 50% of all entries), and it is great to see a big increase of younger horses back in the lower levels again.


Wonderland CWE (Fursten Look/Limonit) Zoie Gray B. Christine Weal Equestrian

Wonderland CWE

2nd River Park Sienna (Swarovski Old/Don Bosco) Greg Smith B. Renai Hart

4th Tiffany MH (Totilas KWPN/Anamaour) R. Madison Schollum O. Jon and Wendi Williamson B. Matthews Hanoverians


HSP Raven Imp.(Rey du Sol/Gribaldi T.) Henrike Puketapu

HSP Raven with David-Jones-Parry

4th Nina DW (Negro/Doringcourt) Sarah Holmes B. David Woolley


HPH Furst Welcome (Furstenball Old/Wolkentanz I) Amy Sage B. Stacey McCoy

3rd Wonderlust (Worldly/Waikiki Star xx) Bred owned and ridden by Jayna Dinneen

4th Zambesi PSH (Zirocco Blue/Flemmingh Holst.) Natalie Page B. Nicolette Rendle

Advanced Medium Silver

3rd Santana MH (Santino/Anamour) with Cindy Wiffin


Dance Hit SW (Danciano/Sandro Hit Old) with Susan Tomlin B. Sheena M Ross

Dance  Hit SW with co-owner Andrea Raves and Bates Manager David Jones-Parry

Furst Rock DW Rhein (Furst Romancier/Royston Rockstar) Vanessa Way B. David Woolley

4th Ducati MH (Dancier/Anamour) Wendi Williamson B. Matthews Hanoverians

5th Jolie DW (Johnson/Quattro B SF) Vanessa Way B. David Woolley

Small Tour

Kinnordy Golda (Gymnastik Star/Daktylus) Madison Schollum B. David and Julie Brougham

Medium Tour – 1,2 and 4

Bon Jovi MH (Bonifatius/Weltmeyer) Becki Williamson B. Matthews Hanoverians

Laila Dawn (Limonit/Anamour) Nicki Sunley B. Ad Astra Hanoverians

4th Hapsburg PSH (His Highness/Gaius xx) Liz Hutson B. Nicolette Rendle

Grand Prix -1 and 4

Don Vito MH (Don Frederico/Anamour) Wendi Williamson B. Matthews Hanoverians

4th Ardmore (Anamour/Dynamit) Lucarne Dolley B. Justine Parker

The Society sponsored the Grand Prix Freestyle again this year after a break from doing so and it was a very worthwhile outlay– bearing in mind that the class was also Live streamed and watched by many.

Other Division Champions

Preliminary Silver – Furst Dance EFF (Furstenball Old/Danroad xx) Charlotte Grant B. Sarah Catherwood

Novice Silver – Nina DW (Negro/Doringcourt) Sarah Holmes B. David Woolley

Novice Bronze – HPH Fascination (Furstenball Old/The Commander xx) Hannah Walton B. Stacey McCoy

Medium Bronze – Zambezi PSH

National Small Tour Pro-Am –  2nd Anuschka PSH  (Anamour/Gaius xx) Kathryn Correy B. Nicolette Rendle

National Pro-Am Medium Tour – Laila Dawn

National Pro-Am GP – Stoneylea Lancelot (Limonit/Anamour) Jen Sim B. John and Angela Smith

Para Grade III  1 and 2 – both ridden by Rachel Shiree Hughes

HPH Benedict (Ballettmeister/Winterkoenig) with Rachel-Shiree Hughes

HBS Alliance (Anamour/Winterkoenig) B. Rachel and Glenn Hughes

Other Trophies

Anamour Memorial Trophy (either by Anamour or out of an Anamour Dam)

Don Vito MH (Don Frederico out of ***Adelheid MH – Anamour/Weltmeyer)

Rakaunui Trophy – Best Mare Performance

Laila Dawn

Hunniman Trophy – Best Para Performance

HPH Benedict

By Robin Potter, Studbook keeper

Bates NZ Dressage Champions 2022